Skeleton of lower limb

The skeleton of the lower limb (or lower extremity) consists of the pelvis and three parts of the free lower extremity - the thigh, leg, and foot.

The pelvic skeleton (or pelvic girdle) consists of two hip bones and the sacrum.

A single bone forms the skeleton of the thigh - the femur, while the leg (also known as the lower leg) consists of two bones - the tibia and fibula.

In the anterior knee region between the thigh and the lower leg lies the largest sesamoid bone in the human body, the patella.

The final part of the lower limb is the foot. About 26 bones form the skeleton of the human foot.