Neck muscles

The neck is the region between the head and the rest of the body, which is built of different tissue and organs, including many skeletal muscles. The main functions of the neck muscles are to permit movements of the neck or head and to provide structural support of the head. The muscles of the neck can be divided into groups according to their location.

The superficial neck muscles are the most external and include the platysma and the sternocleidomastoid.

The suprahyoid muscles are a group of neck muscles located above the hyoid bone and all elevate this bone, while the infrahyoid muscles are situated below the hyoid bone and participate in depressing it.

The three scalene muscles are located in the lateral part of the neck.

The prevertebral muscles of the neck are situated anterior to the vertebral column.

In the upper posterior part of the neck below the occipital bone the four paired suboccipital muscles are situated. These muscles can also be categorized among the deep muscles of the back.

Several other muscles of the back also extend up to the neck region and are partly connected with the cervical part of the vertebral column, including the trapezius, levator scapulae, splenius, iliocostalis, longissimus, rotatores, semispinalis, interspinales, and intertransversarii muscles.